Article I    NAME

The name of this organization is the 1898 Wilmington Race Riot Commission.
The Wilmington Race Riot Commission is a state board, appointed by the Governor, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Speaker Pro Tempore of the North Carolina Senate, the Mayor of Wilmington, and the New Hanover County Commissioners. It is established under the authority of S 787, "The Studies Act."
The purpose of the commission shall be to develop a historical record of the 1898 Wilmington Race Riot. In developing such a record, the commission shall gather information, including oral testimony from descendants of those affected by the riot or others, examine documents and writings, and otherwise take such actions as may be necessary or proper in accurately identifying information having historical significance to the 1898 Wilmington Race Riot, including the economic impact of the riot on African Americans in this state.
The commission shall consist of 13 members, each of whom shall serve a two year term. Commission members shall be appointed on or before September 1, 2000, as follows:

The President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall appoint three members.
The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint three members.
The Governor shall appoint three public members, one of whom shall be a historian.
The Mayor and City Council of the City of Wilmington shall appoint two members.
The New Hanover County Commissioners shall appoint two members.

A vacancy shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, except that all unexpired terms in seats appointed by the General Assembly shall be filled in accordance with GS 120-122. Appointees to fill vacancies shall serve the remainder of the unexpired term and until their successors have been duly appointed and qualified.

The Commission may remove any of its members for neglect of duty, incompetence, or unprofessional conduct. A member subject to disciplinary proceedings shall be disqualified from participating in the official business of the commission until the charges have been resolved.

Members of the commission shall not receive per diem or reimbursement for travel or subsistence.

Article V    CHAIRMAN
The commission's officers shall consist of two cochairs, a vice-chair, and other officers deemed necessary by the commission to carry out the purposes of this article. The President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint the cochairs of the commission. All other officers shall be elected by the commission. All officers shall serve for two-year terms and shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified.
Article VI    MEETINGS
The commission shall meet at least quarterly to conduct business as authorized. A majority of commission members shall constitute a quorum.

The Department of Cultural Resources shall provide necessary clerical and administrative support services to the commission.

The commission may submit to the General Assembly an interim report of its findings and recommendations. The commission shall submit to the General Assembly a final report of its findings and recommendations no later than December 31, 2004, unless otherwise extended by the General Assembly. The final report may include suggestions for a permanent marker or memorial of the riot and whether to designate the event as a historic site.


2006 North Carolina Office of Archives & History. All rights reserved.